The NSW Government has released a draft Management Plan for the NSW Mainland Marine Park Network (2021-2031) to seek stakeholder and community input into the future of the management of our five marine parks along the NSW coast.  

The five mainland marine parks in NSW include:

  • Cape Byron
  • Solitary Islands
  • Port Stephens-Great Lakes
  • Jervis Bay
  • Batemans

The draft 10-year plan identifies the environmental, social, cultural and economic values to be conserved by marine parks, the threats to those values and also provides a road map for their future management. It sets out a simpler and more consistent approach to managing the network of marine parks along the coast of mainland NSW while also taking into account their unique issues and needs.  

Our marine parks are so valuable, and we need your help to ensure we have the best plan to manage them effectively.   Please ‘Have Your Say’ and help us to improve the management of one of NSW’s greatest assets by filling out the survey online.  

The draft plan identifies certain issues that may benefit from the use of rules and zoning, but it does not include any specific rules or zones.  The detail of any rules or zones will be developed in stage 2 after the plan is finalised.  

A draft management plan for Lord Howe Island Marine Park will be developed separately to address many unique issues and management arrangements for this internationally renowned marine park.  

For more information on the draft plan visit the website where you can find videos, fact sheets and answers to Frequently Asked Questions or email